The Philadelphia Orchestra - 2011-12 Season
Welcome Yannick Nezet-Seguin

Philadelphia enthusiastically welcomed the Orchestra's next music director, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, with sold-out concerts and rousing ovations. This season Yannick will delve even further into great repertoire with his new ensemble.

German Requiem
Yannick continues a multi-year exploration of the great requiems. Joining forces with soprano Dorothea Röschmann, baritone Matthias Goerne, and the Westminster Symphonic Choir, he will lead the lyrical German Requiem by Brahms.

Philadelphia's Legacy
In a very special celebration of Philadelphia's storied musical legacy, Yannick will present two works that The Philadelphia Orchestra first brought to life. Rachmaninoff's Rhapsody on a Theme of Pagaini contains perhaps one of the most famous melodies ever written. Yuja Wang, the skyrocketing Chinese pianist and Curtis Institute of Music graduate, will be the featured soloist. The Rhapsody is paired with another work premiered by the Orchestra, this one in honor of its centenary: Jennifer Higdon's Concerto for Orchestra. Hidgon, a Curtis faculty member, composed this work with the Orchestra's players in mind.

Bach and Mahler
Audiences will experience a new aspect of Yannick's talents as he leads Bach's Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 from the keyboard. The second half of the program is Mahler's monumental Symphony No. 6. With Yannick and The Philadelphia Orchestra, these performances will be a truly profound experience.

It's the beginning of a new legacy of excellence.

Yuja Wang Matthias Goerne Dorothea Röschmann
Yuja Wang
December 8-11, 2011
Matthias Goerne
November 3-5, 2011
Dorothea Röschmann
November 3-5, 2011


Copyright © 2011
Photo Credits | Contact Us | 215.893.1999